Awesome Free External Databases: Home

64 Parishes is a project of the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities (LEH). Since 1971, LEH has partnered with communities, institutions, and individuals to explore Louisiana’s past, reflect on our present, and imagine our future.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1777-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.

Full-Text Search of Drug Product Labeling
Web-based application to search labeling documents of FDA-approved drug products.

The daily journal of the US Government. All documents generated by the US Government are located here- Bills, laws, departmental rule changes, etc.

Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.

The Louisiana Trans Oral History Project (LaTOHP) was founded in 2020 to gather and preserve the voices of Louisiana’s transgender communities. In 2021 we received funding from the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities to create transcriptions and hold public programming.

Charts, data sets, maps, historical data, and educational resources.

Explore 927,342 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.
This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.

PubMed® comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks

The Smithsonian Institution Archives captures, preserves, and shares with the public the history of this extraordinary Institution. From its inception in 1846 to the present, the records of the history of the Institution—its people, its programs, its research, and its stories—have been gathered, organized, and disseminated so that everyone can learn about the Smithsonian and its role in American history, scientific exploration, and with the promotion of international cultural understanding.

The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation's leading provider of quality data about its people and economy.